Oh day 5 how I kind of resent you today. Friday night, in our house is known as 'family night!' This night, every week we make or order pizza, play games and or watch a movie. In the summer we will do bonfires and s'mores, but one thing holds true..... There will always be pizza on Friday night.
This blessed event started very young for me. I can remember it being a tradition once we had moved back to Ohio from West Virginia, this was when I was 8. So for nearly 25 years, I have been eating pizza on Friday nights. Do the math people. Luckily, I have been doing my homework and PLANNING! This is a huge part of this program. Do not be caught unprepared.
I have been learning a ton about eating this week and I have to say, walking through the grocery store today, I felt so empowered! I am looking at labels now and I'm 'getting it'!
I'm excited for the next 5 days while on the cleanse but I do have to say I miss dairy. I don't even eat it that much. We eat a lot of Mexican around here and I find that's when I am grabbing for it. Today's meals were very basic.
After talking my catalyst and Probiotic cleanse tablets ( I forgot to mention that yesterday. In place of the cleanse drink, you take 2 small capsules before breakfast), I came up with a concoction for breakfast. 1/2 cup of Oats, with a tbsp of peanut butter and a tbsp of cocoa. As of right now I am kind of unsure about sweetners in this phase. I know Splenda is okay in moderation but other things I am not sure of. If I were following 'the clean diet' Agave nectar and honey are allowed to sweeten. I may or may not used a tbsp of one of those. I ended up only eating half because is was so filling. For snack I had some strawberries and mixed nuts. Lunch was 1/2 cup quinoa ( the base I made the other night with celery and onions), with 1/4 cup black beans I made the other night. They are just beans. Then I added 1/4 of an avocado. Now this is where I would have but a dollop of reduced fat sour cream on top. Being on the cleanse, I did not. I put some Mrs. Dash 'fiesta lime' on top and that was lunch. I would be lying if I said I didn't miss the sour cream. However, I was very surprised at how good it was! I ate it all! Snack kinda happenned late. I ate some 'cinnamon roasted almonds' while I was putting the groceries away. Then I made a snack.
This was something I had been seeing for awhile and decided to try it. It is 'PB2'. Basically it is powdered peanut butter. It only has 45 calories per 2 tbsp and in all honesty, was amazing. I put 1tbsp on a brown rice cake and some thinly sliced apples.
I want to clarify something. I just realized today that I am doing something wrong. For things that are labeled 'starches', during the cleanse phase, you should only be eating one a day. I kind of messed up on this. I have been eatin 2 to 3. Again, I doubt that there will be someone out there that doesn't miss something. This program is not a start and a stop at 24 days. This program is meant to start new eating habits that you will continue. So tmrw, I will be starting the 1 starch a day.
Something I have not eaten a lot of is salads. I think it's because I have no dressings! I have a recipes for a strawberry dressing of some sort I forgot to make at the begining of the week I may make tonight.
Something else I have a beef about is the variety of spaghetti sauce at Kroger. Every single brand had added sugar and salt. I was a little ticked! Lol. So I bought some canned tomatoes, added garlic powder, onion powder and Italian herbs. It has been on the stove for a few hours. My Great-Grandma Parolin would be proud. Hopefully it's edible! I may need to call my uncle in Texas who is the only one that cooks authentic Italian anymore. We will see.





So dinner. It was freaking incredible. I used 100% whole wheat tortillas, clean pizza sauce, I sautéed mushrooms, onions and peppers with garlic. Put it on the sauce. Then I got veggie shreds which is a soy based cheese substitute. Put it in the oven until the cheese melted. I am so incredibly excited that I can have my pizza and AdvoCare too!
In the end. I am learning that its about quality, not quantity. You can eat 1500 calories of pre packaged foods or 1500 calories of nutritious food that will actually fuel your body. It's your choice. The 1500 calories are not created equal. I have found that eating the crap food, clogs me up. It makes my body not want to burn! Eating quality food, helps my body to burn and lose weight. 'You won't get the million dollar body ordering from the dollar menu....'
Since Monday I have lost 3.7lbs!!!!!
Starting weight (4.9.13): 235.6
Weight today: 231.9
-----------Pounds lost this week: 3.7 lbs
Total lbs: 3.7lbs
Water: 100 oz.
Exercise: no excuses. I just didn't exercise. I was bad.



Leave a Reply.